top of page

Chewy Chia Seed Cookies

Hello everyone! I’m back after a bit of a break. Initially it was an unplanned break after I dropped my phone and shattered the screen. With no instagram access, minimal facebook time outside of work and no whatsapp contact with the outside world, I decided I might as well go the whole hog and get off the grid. I kind of stuck to it, but let’s face it - everybody needs to check facebook in the office, otherwise how would we know when Buzzfeed posts another good productivity-reducing list for our enjoyment?

So besides the odd FB surf, I was largely uncontactable, incommunicative and tech-free for almost 2 weeks. And I’m not going to lie, they were the calmest 2 weeks in recent memory. What really got me is how much longer my evenings seemed when I wasn’t checking my phone every 5 seconds to see who that actor is in the new TV show I’m watching, or screengrabbing that new recipe I saw on instragam that I absolutely have to try. When you focus on just the one thing that you’re doing, whether it’s watching TV or cooking or doing your chores, you have time to spend inside your own head. It’s actually quite refreshing what I found there.

Since I know that one good deed is worth a thousand good intentions I say this with some self-cynicism, but I’m going to try and maintain my evening switch offs. Yes I’ll answer the occasional whatsapp, but otherwise I don’t know want to know your story, phone. Get three away, you evil time-swindling, soul-sucking device.

Anyway moral of the story – less tech is good for mental health. Now let’s have a recipe to get back into the swing of things.

Chewy Chia Seed Cookies

Ingredients:

½ cup chia seeds (not soaked)

½ cup protein powder (can substitute coconut flour)

1/3 cup mesquite

2 tbsp melted coconut oil

2 tbsp raw honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

2-3 tbsp oat milk

2 tsbp mixed seeds

Small handful dark chocolate pieces

2 eggs

Pinch salt

Instructions:

1. Combine all ingredients well and spoon onto greased baking tray

2. Press down with spoon to form a hollow in each cookie

3. Bake at 160 degrees for 15 – 20 minutes or until golden and crumbly

4. Top each hollow with a tsp of natural peanut butter and a pecan nut

5. Serve on a bed of coconut snowflakes if you're feeling artistic and need to take a photo

bottom of page