top of page

Lamington Mousse Balls


I was experimenting with a few recipes on Monday night while I was cooking dinner - something I often do, as I figure if I’m already in the kitchen making a mess, why not make one huge mess instead of cleaning up several times? I absolutely hate doing dishes, it’s my worst chore. It’s also the one I do most often with all this cooking, and I can never seem to get through a session without 57 dirty dishes and 26 muttered swear words – or 1 curse for every 2 dishes.

Anyway, this time the cussing was worth it, because I made yummy Lamington Mousse Balls that taste very similar to cake lamingtons, but with none of the bad stuff. Don’t worry lamington fans, I’m not suggesting giving up the real deal altogether. Just try this one for healthier mid-week snacks, and save the cake for weekends.

Lamington Mousse Balls

Ingredients:

1 cup mixed seeds

1 tsp cinnamon

1 banana

2 tbsp cacaco

1 tbsp raw honey

3 tbsp natural peanut butter

1 tsp vanilla extract (or essence)

2 tbsp almond flour

Desiccated coconut

Method:

1. Pulse ingredients in food processor until blended. Add a few drops of water to get the mousse like consistency.

2. Roll into balls and roll in desiccated coconut.

3. Refrigerate for an hour before tucking in.

Tip: These are made with banana, so their shelf life is a little shorter than with other bliss ball recipes. I find they’re good for about 5 days, but actually they taste best on the first day when they’re at their moussiest consistency after an hour in the fridge. Serve as a healthy teatime snack instead of biscuits.

Recipe inspired by Jessica Sepel

bottom of page